COUNCIL

At a meeting of the Council on Friday, 15 May 2009 in the Council Chamber, Runcorn Town Hall

Present: Councillors Loftus (Chairman), Austin, Balmer, M. Bradshaw, Browne, Shepherd, Hodgkinson, P. Blackmore, S. Blackmore, J. Bradshaw, Bryant, D. Cargill, E. Cargill, Dennett, Edge, Fraser, Gerrard, Gilligan, Harris, Higginson, Hignett, Horabin, Howard, D. Inch, Jones, Lloyd Jones, A. Lowe, J. Lowe, McDermott, McInerney, Morley, Murray, Nelson, Nolan, Norddahl, Osborne, Parker, Philbin, Polhill, E. Ratcliffe, M. Ratcliffe, Redhead, Rowan, Rowe, Stockton, Swain, Wainwright, Wallace, Wharton, Worrall and Wright

Apologies for Absence: Councillors Drakeley, Findon, Leadbetter, Swift and Thompson

Absence declared on Council business: None

Officers present: J. Whittaker, C. Halpin, D. Johnson, I. Leivesley, K. Maher, G. Meehan, D. Parr, S. Wallace-Bonner, P. Watts and M. Reaney

Also in attendance: 36 Members of the Public

Action

COU1 ELECTION OF MAYOR AND DEPUTY MAYOR

Moved by Councillor Stan Parker To be seconded by Councillor Eddie Jones

RESOLVED: That Councillor Frank Fraser be elected Mayor of the Borough for the Municipal Year 2009/10.

Moved by Councillor Paul Nolan And seconded by Councillor Shaun Osborne

RESOLVED: That Councillor Marie Wright be elected Deputy Mayor for the Borough for the Municipal Year 2009/10.

COU2 MINUTES

The minutes of the Ordinary Meeting of the Council held on 22nd April 2009, having been printed and circulated, were taken as read, subject to Councillors J. and M. Bradshaw being added to the attendance list.

RESOLVED: That the minutes of the meeting be confirmed and adopted.

THE MAYOR (COUNCILLOR FRASER) IN THE CHAIR

COU3 THE MAYOR'S ANNOUNCEMENTS

The Mayor announced that the charities to be supported during his term of office were Another Chance to Care (formerly Halton Fostering Families), HCPT The Pilgrimage Trust and The Widnes Fellowship Centre.

COU4 EXECUTIVE BOARD (SELECTION COMMITTEE) - 13 MAY 2009

The following recommendations of the Executive Board were moved by the Mayor and seconded by the Deputy Mayor:

COU5 LEADER AND DEPUTY LEADER OF THE COUNCIL

RESOLVED: That

- (1) Councillor McDermott be appointed Leader of the Council for the Municipal Year 2009/2010; and
- (2) Councillor Polhill be appointed Deputy Leader of the Council for the Municipal Year 2009/2010.

COU6 BOARDS, COMMITTEE'S, APPEAL PANEL AND WORKING PARTY

RESOLVED: That the Boards, Committees, Appeals Panel and Working Party be constituted with the membership as shown for the Municipal Year 2009/10:

Executive Board (10)

Councillors McDermott (Chairman), D. Cargill, Gerrard, Harris, McInerney, Nelson, Polhill, Swain, Wright and Wharton.

Executive Sub (3)

Councillors Wharton (Chairman), Harris and Nelson.

3MG Executive Sub-Board (3)

Councillors Polhill (Chairman), Nelson and Wright.

Mersey Gateway Executive Board (3)

Councillors McDermott (Chairman), Polhill and Wharton.

Corporate Services Policy and Performance Board (11)

Councillors Gilligan (Chairman), A. Lowe (Vice Chair), J. Bradshaw, Browne, E. Cargill, Dennett, Edge, Inch, Nolan, Norddahl and Wainwright.

Healthy Halton Policy and Performance Board (11)

Councillors E. Cargill (Chairman), J. Lowe (Vice Chair), Austin, Gilligan, Higginson, Horabin, Lloyd-Jones, Philbin, E. Ratcliffe, Swift and Wallace.

Urban Renewal Policy and Performance Board (11)

Councillors Hignett (Chairman), Morley (Vice Chair), Balmer, P. Blackmore, E. Cargill, Hodgkinson, Leadbetter, Murray, Nolan, Rowe and Thompson.

Employment, Learning and Skills Policy and Performance Board (11)

Councillors Jones (Chairman), Edge (Vice Chair), Austin, M. Bradshaw, Loftus, Findon, Howard, Parker, Rowe, Stockton and Worrall.

Children and Young People Policy and Performance Board (11)

Councillors Dennett (Chairman), Horabin (Vice Chairman), Browne, Drakeley, Loftus, Gilligan, Higginson, J. Lowe, Parker, M. Ratcliffe and Stockton.

Safer Halton Policy and Performance Board (11)

Councillors Osborne (Chairman), Stockton (Vice Chair), M. Bradshaw, Edge, Lloyd-Jones, Morley, M. Ratcliffe, Redhead, Rowan, Shepherd and Thompson.

Development Control Committee (11)

Councillors Nolan (Chairman), Thompson (Vice Chairman), P. Blackmore, S. Blackmore, J. Bradshaw, Hignett, Hodgkinson, Leadbetter, Morley, Osborne and Polhill.

Business Efficiency Board (11)

Councillors Leadbetter (Chairman), Lloyd-Jones (Vice Chair), Inch, Jones, A. Lowe, Murray, Norddahl, Osborne, Philbin, Swift and Worrall.

Standards Committee (10)

Mr. W. Badrock (Chairman), Parish Councillor Crawford, Mr A. Luxton, Parish Councillor Canon David Felix, Mr. Robert Garner and Councillors Balmer, Parker, Redhead, Wainwright and Wharton.

Appeals Panel (20)

Councillors Wainwright (Chairman), Parker (Vice Chairman), Browne, Dennett, Findon, Loftus, Gerrard, Higginson, Hignett, Horabin, Howard, Jones, J. Lowe, Morley, M. Ratcliffe, Redhead, Shepherd, Swift, Wallace and Worrall.

Regulatory Committee (11)

Councillors Philbin (Chairman), Wallace (Vice-Chairman), Bryant, Drakeley, Howard, Inch, A. Lowe, Murray, E. Ratcliffe, Wainwright and Nelson.

Local Development Framework Working Party (15)

Councillors Polhill (Chairman), Balmer, S. Blackmore, Harris, Hignett, Hodgkinson, McDermott, McInerney, Nolan, Parker, Redhead, Rowan, Shepherd, Wainwright and Wright.

Mayoral Committee (5)

The incumbent Mayor (Councillor Fraser) and Councillors Gilligan, Hignett, Hodgkinson and Swift.

COU7 APPOINTMENT OF SCRUTINY CO-ORDINATOR

RESOLVED: That Councillor S. Blackmore be appointed Scrutiny Co-ordinator for the forthcoming Municipal Year.

COU8 ANNUAL REVIEW OF CONSTITUTION

The Council's Constitution had been reviewed and the proposed changes recommended were outlined in the report of the Strategic Director – Corporate and Policy which had been circulated with the summons.

One additional amendment was tabled related to amending any references to the old ward name of Castlefields to the new ward name 'Halton Castle'.

RESOLVED: That the Council's Constitution be amended as proposed.

COU9 EXECUTIVE BOARD PORTFOLIOS

The Leader confirmed that the Executive Board would consist of the following portfolio holders for the forthcoming year:

Children and Young People – Councillor McInerney
Health and Social Care – Councillor Gerrard
Planning, Transportation, Regeneration and Renewal –
Councillor Polhill

Environment, Leisure and Sport – Councillor Harris Community – Councillor Wright European Affairs – Councillor D. Cargill Corporate Services – Councillor Wharton Quality and Performance – Councillor Swain Neighbourhood Management and Development – Councillor Nelson.

RESOLVED: That the portfolios be noted.

COU10 CIVIC SUNDAY

The Mayor announced his intention as attending Divine Services to be held at 10.45 a.m. on Sunday 12th July 2009 at St. Bede's Catholic Church, Appleton, Widnes and invited Members of the Council, employees, representatives of public bodies, organisations and associations within the Borough to join him.

Meeting ended at 7.00 p.m.